More Than Skin Deep

I realize that I just went all fangirly about this a few days ago, but there is a very big reason why I am a daily reader of Karen Walrond, and this entry is but one example, but such a one, that it has prompted me to repeat my fangirly-ness within a little more than a week’s time. Read it. Read it now. She is intelligent, kind, always putting wonderful positive energy out on her blog, and she takes amazing photos to boot.

Karen has recently published a book entitled, “The Beauty of Different: Observations of a Confident Misfit,” which I have yet to read for myself, but which I know contains a sampling of her wonderful photos as well as more of her fantastic writing. It is a book about how we are all beautiful, so much more so than what the media tries to tell is “beautiful,” and that our differences are what make up the best part of our own unique beauty. This message, as well as the message contained in the post linked to above, is one I have desperately needed.

I am working through a lifetime of striving for perfection, comparing myself to that vision of beauty we have all been indoctrinated to think is normal. I was the gangly, awkward tween and teen, all arms and legs, who was smart, with tendencies towards much nerdiness. My facial features, which I have learned to see as treasured heirlooms, each with a person and a story attached to them, didn’t really fit in with the cute little noses and symmetrical features we all see in pictures. I never took it to any kind of extreme and for that I know I have gotten off easy, but it continues to be difficult to look at myself and see what I am told that others see. We are our own worst critics, after all.

In recent years, I have been working to see what others see. Looking to find my best instead of my worst in the mirror. Holding my head up higher and being proud of who I am and how I present myself. It is an uphill battle, but one I plan to win. Slowly but surely, I am cresting that hill.

To help me along that journey, you can bet that once I am in an earning position again, I will be going here or here (or here, since I’m in Canada!) to order that book. Just something tangible to help me along the way. I am learning to seek out and accept assistance, to surround myself with positivity and light whenever and however I can.

To all my friends and family reading this, please know I think you are all the most uniquely gorgeous creatures out there, inside and out, and I am so lucky to have you in my life!
 

 

In the interest of full disclosure: I will be using this blog entry to enter to win a copy of the book. You can too if you like, just click here, and enter before midnight on November 5th. Please know that a blog post is not necessary to enter. Also, if you doubt my motivation for writing this post, please refer to my super fangirl post, in which I not only very inarticulatly gush about this blogger, but include a link to her site as well as one of the places to order the book, several days before this contest was even announced. This is how much I believe in Karen Walrond and the message of her book. In fact, I wasn’t planning to post another entry about it, because you know, when does nice fangirlish-ness become uncomfortably over-bearing fangirlish-ness, but I couldn’t not share today’s post, as linked above. Important, important stuff.

This entry was posted in Gushy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

