Memories to Music

We’ve all had those flashbacks when a certain song comes on the radio. Your current world dissolves for a moment and you are suddenly back in your basement with your friends making up lip-sync routines, or roadtripping, or dancing at a club. The memory may bring a smile or a small cringe, but it’s a little fun thing nonetheless. Songs from the radio Top 40 list bring me back to specific years at school and I have mixtapes that cause whole summers to flash before my eyes.

I want to share a song that takes me back like that, but I have so many, it’s hard to think of just one. The opening riff to “Sweet Child of Mine” reminds me of eating lunch outside in the springtime, while some guy in one of the bands at school practiced it over and over with the band room door open (Incidentally, I still find myself humming my own songs from band class–not nearly as of-the-moment, but nice pieces– and remembering where I was and when.). Run DMC and Aerosmith’s “Walk This Way” was big that year too, it was a good time for fun music. Skydiggers and Bon Jovi remind me of time with my cousins. Spirit of the West reminds me of celebrating the weekend and two days of not thinking about school (as much). More recently, Nelly Furtado and JT and BNL remind me of fun roadtrips by myself, showing off my Car Star tendencies!

This is such a small sampling, and I’m likely forgetting some of the most important ones! What are songs that take you back? The ones that, when they come on the radio, you have to stop what you’re doing for a second to soak up the memory? I’d love to hear it!

This entry was posted in NaBloPoMo. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

