Lesson Learned

Attention Self: When a two-and-a-half-year-old is tired and cranky, don’t make his snarly face back at him, lest he think he is being mocked. Then, try really, really hard not to laugh (although it’s so hard and I failed miserably) when he gets truly ticked at you and lets you know.

It was so adorable, but I could kick myself because I have vivid memories of being so frustrated about the same thing when I was young. I would be angry about something, but was apparently very cute while at it and it prompted giggles from everyone around me. You just see it as being laughed at, and I so didn’t mean it that way tonight. So invalidating.

I know he’ll grow out of it, but I certainly don’t want to be seen as the grown-up who laughs at him. So, mental note self, don’t be doing that again. Or, run away really fast and giggle in private.

This entry was posted in NaBloPoMo. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

