Words

Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you? – Gwen Bell, Reverb 10

I did actually pick a word for 2010 way back when 2009 was ending. That’s not the same as what this is asking I know, but it was something I was planning to do for 2011 as well and hadn’t figured it out yet (I will be sure to let you know when I do). I had decided then that my word for 2010 was to be fulfillment. In a way, it was a very apt selection. I helped myself achieve several dreams from my life list and had a wonderful time doing it. I learned so much. Interesting though, in that it was not the fulfillment I had originally had in mind and hoped to bring about when I thought it up for myself.

When I think back on 2010 to select a word for how it’s been, I go back and forth between a few, wondering if there is any one word that can describe this year. I would say it’s been a year of learning, but it’s been a bit more than that. So, I guess really it’s been a year of growth. Some of it was fun and easy, and some if it was the, “Eat your brussels sprouts because they’re good for you,” kind. Sometimes I’m still not sure what to make of it, really.

I know that I am grateful for this year. I don’t know that I’ve ever had quite this kind of push (as well as the time) to work on myself. Through travel, through learning opportunities, through reading, through talking to friends, new and old. It’s been an interesting year of discovery and reflection. Nothing has really turned out the way I thought it might, but it’s still good nonetheless. Hmmm… Maybe the word should be unexpected?

As for how I would like to be looking back on 2011 at this time next year… Is it cheesy to say happiness? Actually, I think satisfaction might be more apt. And not satisfaction as in the report card “satisfactory” versus “good” and “very good;” I mean satisfaction in the way that things are very, very good, and getting better as the days pass. That I am happy and fulfilled and energized. That I am inspired. Satisfaction in that things are going well and smoothly and my needs and wants are being met and that things are just, well… very, very good.

Here’s hoping. Here’s to hope.

This entry was posted in Working On Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

