I Feel Christmas Magic

This time of year always feels magical to me. I remember as a child the air feeling almost electric and I never knew how I was going to get to sleep because I would be absolutely stiff with excitement. To this day, I “breathe through my feet” like my mother would tell me to do back then. It helped, but I know I never got much sleep. My sister and I would usually be tip-toeing around the house to look at the stove clock by 2am. We would do our best to try to go back to sleep, but I don’t know if we ever really did. The fact that once we were older there was a “you can open your stockings on your own” rule, suggests to me that perhaps not.

Christmas is a little different for me now, but no less magical. I get frustrated like anyone else at the full parking lots and the pressure to get everything done and ready on time, but the magic is still there. When I am face to face with people I see more smiles than frowns, I hear more “Happy Holidays” than expressions of frustration and I see some adults just as giddy as the kids are about this time of year (me included).

For me, this time of year is about getting to make time to celebrate family and friends. To look forward to fresh starts in the new year. A time to dream and to wonder. To start watching the days get longer. A reminder that there is so much potential for good things in this world.

Whatever your celebrations this time of year, I wish you a happy season. For those whose high holiday is elsewhere in the calendar year, I wish for you to feel as much joy then as I do now.

Merry Christmas!

This entry was posted in Happy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

