Home

A new word for the year came to me on New Year’s Day  and wouldn’t let me go. It makes so much sense to me that I can’t believe I didn’t think of it before. While I am going to keep the other words from my last post (which I think actually factor in nicely with it), this one takes precedence, I think. My new word of the year is: home.

I tried to look it up to find a definition that I could work in with it for this entry, but dictionaries just list the physical structure of a home. And while I definitely need and want that, what struck me about the word then and continues to strike me almost a week later is the feeling that the word “home” evokes for me. I feel warmth when I say it. I picture a place of peace and safety and security. I get a sense of having a niche and a place where I fit in. It speaks of a place of soothing and love.

That is what I want for this year. My place. Where I can be settled. A physical home, a work home, a home in the sense of the people around me (if that makes any sense). A place where I can stay, that I am not thinking of as a necessary step to what I really want, but to be what I want and to be wanted there.

I can sit here and wind sentences all day on it, but for your sake, I will leave it at that. I hope the universe will be kind with me and this word, I hope if it does go differently than what I am able to picture right now, it’s because it’s actually better than I ever could have imagined.

I am going to try something, and I would like to ask you help with it, dear readers. I am trying to start a gratitude practice. I have been inspired, once again, by this wonderful blog, and while I cannot at this time participate in the supported practice she is offering, I would like to try my hand at thinking of one thing per day to be grateful for and I want to try to record them here once a week, just to make me accountable for it somewhere. Sometimes it will be big things, sometimes it might just be that I had a superb piece of chocolate that day, but I think this could be a nice thing to get into. So, if you could just give me a gentle kick in the pants if you notice I am lagging behind on them, I would be most appreciative :-)

So here goes:

January 1st – I got together with my family for a fun New Year’s Day gathering.

January 2nd – I wore my favourite pair of jeans that are slowly becoming see-through (aside – why must that only happen with the favourites?) and they lasted me yet another day.

January 3rd – My mom’s birthday, and I am extremely grateful for her!

January 4th – I went on a walk by the lake, enjoying the sun on my face and the wind in my hair.

January 5th – I had a really good, productive day at work. I smiled almost the whole way home.

January 6th – I had a fun day out with my mom and a nice visit with my dad.

January 7th – Gorgeous weather – I went on a long walk without needing gloves or head coverings and then continued to sit outside at a park with a coffee and watched the birds on the lake.

So that’s my first week of 2012. How has yours been?

This entry was posted in Gratitude, New Year. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Home

  1. Pingback: Turning the Corner | Imperfect Gem

Leave a Reply

