Reflections

So it’s December. I can hardly believe it. In some ways, I feel this year has passed so quickly, yet in others, I feel like it’s been hanging around for too long and I’m ready for the new year and a fresh start already. It’s been such a weird year.

I went and saw my grandmother and had a wonderful week with her. I am so glad I went. And exactly one month to the day that I left, I flew back to attend her funeral. I fully believe that it was her choice to go when she did. She had had enough of being sick and quite frankly, had been away from my grandfather for far too long. That was just her way. She was not one to put up with unnecessary BS when she had reached her limit. Everything about that brings me immense comfort. I miss her terribly, but I know she’s happy. That’s all that matters to me.

This has been a year of loss and various other tests of mettle for me, my family and friends; as well, it seems, within my general sphere of existence. There seems to have been so much more if it than in any years I can remember and I hope for all of our sakes that this was the worst of it and we will have a much easier go of things to come.

There have been many fun and happy times this year as well, and thank goodness, because I can’t imagine what the year would have been like without them. I have appreciated all of the lighter moments that have brought balance and healing.

I’m not really sure how to close this post. There’s no higher meaning to any of it, no moral or learning point. It’s just what I am thinking and feeling right now. I hope that’s enough.

This entry was posted in New Year, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

